Life in Nicaragua



A new road in Nicaragua

Who knows what to expect. I’ll be moving into Casa Esperanza right around the 20th of September and that will really be the start of a new journey here in Nica. April had asked me if I was available to work with her on a few different occasions, but I had been hesitant to take the position, knowing full well that it would be very challenging. With the pasts that these women and children have, it is a very emotionally charged place – not to mention that it’s ALL women (except for the one male employee, Oscar, and a few baby boys). After much prayer and thought, it became clear that this was the right step for me to take – and I’m so glad that I made this decision. As soon as I made the call, to let April know that I decided to move in and work for her, I felt a huge weight lifted off my shoulders – it just felt right.

There are many details that still need to be worked out, but I’m sure many things will unfold as I get settled into my new home. What I know now is that I’ll be taking over the earring making (purchasing, planning, teaching, etc) for the Tuesday groups that come in off the streets. Seeing as this is a vocational center as well as a safe place for these women to live, we will also be starting up a few new projects (possibly necklaces and/or a baking). There are a lot of ideas floating around with no one to implement them, so I have no doubts that I will be kept very busy. They currently make greeting cards, earrings, paper, ornaments, and have multiple sewing projects. Aside from the vocational training and coming up with new ways to increase the center’s income, I will be helping out with Brittany and the girls in the dorm. There are also younger children, the kids of the women who live on site, who don’t get much attention. I will be organizing different activities for them, taking them to a nearby sports center that has different day camps available (free for the kids at Casa Esperanza), and just loving them.

Loving all the women and children there. We take love for granted sometimes, not always thinking about how important it really is – until we see those without. I can’t imagine many of the things that have happened to these women and children, but what’s worse is the lack of love in their lives. Some of them have never experienced love; not from their parents, from no one. If I am going down this road with one goal in mind, it is to truly love them – to show them what love looks like. I feel fortunate to already have formed a bond with the dorm girls and some of the younger kids, and I’m really looking forward to getting to know both the women that live there and the ones that come in off the streets. I’m scared, nervous, excited, and ready for this change. God truly is amazing and I can’t wait to see what He has in store for me.

Leave a Reply

